Bookshop Utopia Tour

Lately I’ve had a hankering to go to London. Not for the shows or the shopping or anything like that. For the bookshops. I’d start at Persephone Books (www.persephonebooks.co.uk) on Lambs Conduit Street. It looks beautiful and their books are extremely covetable. Perhaps I’d catch one of their lectures or lunch at one of their writers talks. After that I’d make my way over to Notting Hill. I’m desperate to go to Lutyens & Rubenstein. Apparently they arrange all of their books in alphabetical order rather than by areas of interest (excluding poetry and children’s) but they do have special topical themed sections which are forever changing. And they don’t just sell books, but perfumes inspired by novels and poems, crockery, bags and paperweights too. Then I’d cross the road to have a look in Books For Cooks. Hopefully there would be one of the author chefs there so I could have another bite to eat after perusing the shelves. Finally I’d pop round the corner in The Travel Bookshop – the one that featured in Notting Hill. Maybe I could spread it out over a few days,  get some other bookshops in – make it a proper little tour. Of course it’s the kind of thing you have to do by yourself – not with Husband or Daughter in tow because hanging around looking at things and reading a lot takes concentration. It could be some years before this little bookshop fantasy tour of mine becomes a possible reality. At least it gives me plenty of time to plan.

Leave a Reply

