Extract

Right, I’ve been blogging for over a year now, so I think it’s about time, I actually publish some of my writing here too.  So here’s an extract from my novel in progress which has the working title, The Part Time Wife. I won’t bang on about what the novel’s about just yet. However, I will tell you that this particular extract actually forms chapter 6 of my story.  At this point in the story, the husband of my protagonist, Eve, has gone to live in Dubai for two years while she stays behind in Aberdeen. For the time being their separation exists on a physical basis only, and is a result of a mutual agreement of sorts. This chapter sees Eve living her life in the wake of her husband John’s departure. I hope that’s not too confusing. I did think about posting up the Prologue but I’m not one hundred percent happy with it yet, hence, why you’re getting chapter 6 instead.

Anyway, it would be lovely to recieve comments on it, but only nice ones please – I’m currently paying people a lot of money to tell me which aspects of my writing need to be improved upon. There’s only so much criticism a girl can take at any one time! So, if you haven’t got anything nice to say, please don’t say anything at all. Just pretend you haven’t read it and when we next meet, I won’t bring it up. But if you want to bring it up, that’s fine too.

I’ve written 40,000 words of it so far. Only another 60,000 to go!  The idea was that the MA course would help me finish it off by August 2011. In August, I have to attend a summer school at which publishers and literary agents attend and if there’s the slightest chance that they’re interested in receiving manuscripts from those of us on the MA, I want to be in the position to hand it over.  However, I’m realising that if I go at the pace the course has scheduled, I’m realistically only going to write another 8,000 words by then. Too slow!

So the new plan is this: I need to write 60,000 words in ten months which means 6,000 words per month, which means approx. 1,250 words per week! If you add the short story I have to do for my tutorials (approx 4,000 words per month), then I’m looking at 10,000 words per month.

The question is can I write 10,000 words per month, plus continue freelance work, plus be a full time mum, plus help my husband with his business? Hmm.

The answer has to be yes. I may not achieve the 10,000 words per month target but I’ll probably get more done having it there hanging over my head, than if I didn’t think about it in these terms at all.

Focus Alex, focus.

Leave a Reply

