Rest

Hurrah! The final MA tutorial of the year is over. I’m knackered. I’ve decided I’m going to have a week off from writing and you know, do other things, like tidy my house, sort out my freelance website and generally ‘be’ with my family. I hope my husband remembers who I am. Of course, there’s the summer school coming up – a whole week of writing, reading and talking about writing and reading – which I am massively looking forward to, but also slightly concerned about as seven whole days without the two year old is so far an incomprehensible situation. I really do not want to be sitting in my room sobbing when everyone else is making the most of the opportunity. It could happen. Best not to dwell on it.

In other writing related news: I’m going to see Kate Morton talk about her new book, The Distant Hours on Thursday evening this week so I’ll be finishing that before then. I loved her other two so I’m looking forward to hearing what she’s go to say. Then, next week I’m planning to start work on the chapter 5 of book 2 and to start reading Jamarach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch, which has been staring at me from the bookshelf above my desk since March, when I went to one of her promotional events. I think going to see other writers talk about their books and hearing how they work and where they get their inspiration from really helps motivation levels.  I neglected to write a post about my impressions of the Carol Birch event, mainly because I’d lost my voice that day so couldn’t ask her any of the questions I wanted to, but I enjoyed it nevertheless. She’s a very clever lady, extremely down to earth and apparently lives in Lancashire. I always like it when people from Lancashire do well, we’re a too often neglected county, I feel.

And finally, in other non-writing related news: I’ve been obssessing about Beth Ward’s beautiful prints from her Isla Fey series (the picture at the top of this post is one of hers), I have paid someone to put fake diamonds on my toenails and spent part of last weekend dressed in green spandex and a purple tutu.

See why I like writing? When I don’t do it, this is what happens.

Leave a Reply

