Even Birds Are Chained To The Sky And Other Tales

Have you got a Kindle? I haven’t (yet: *hint to husband*). But if I did have, I would definitely be purchasing Even Birds Are Chained To The Sky and Other Tales, which is a new collection of  winning stories by writers from all over the world from The Fine Line Short Story Prize . Not only am I enammoured with the title, it also features a story called ‘Spoiled’, which happens to have been written by my course mate on the Distance Learning MA in Creative Writing at Lancaster University, Konstantina Sozou-Kyrkou.

Unlike me, Konstantina is one of those people who does write short stories, stories unlike anything else I have ever read. For a start  she litters her prose with Greek words (if her name hadn’t given it away, she is Greek). This gives everything she writes a real sense of place, which has the very pleasing effect of feeling like you have been transported to somewhere beautiful in rural Greece, a place where white washed tavernas perch high on cliffs overlooking a sparkling bright blue sea. This is even more amazing to me because I have never been to Greece, although last year I did watch a film called The Sisterhood of The Travelling Pants 2 (or was it 1). Either or, Blake Lively, Ugly Betty and Rory Gilmore off of The Gilmore Girls are in both, one of them was set in Greece. (What? I have a nine year old neice) My point is, it looked beautiful. Somewhere I’d like to go at some point (*hint no. 3 to husband).

And even though Konstantina’s stories tend to be quite dark, there is always something beautiful about her writing. So if you like storytellers to put you at the heart of the action, to tease you with twists and turns, hell, if you just like eating feta cheese, olives and stuffed vine leaves, get this book and read Konstantina’s story. It’ll make you want to take a holiday or at the very least eat Greek for tea.

Kindle owners can buy it through Amazon here. So do it. Do it now. She lives in Greece. Need I say more?

Leave a Reply

